Comparison Groups

Every institution that participates in PACE receives comparison data in three categories of its choosing. When a comparison group is selected, your institution is compared to all other institutions in the PACE normbase that share your institution’s classification along that dimension. For example,  if you select size as a comparison group, if your institution is categorized as a medium institution, it will be compared to all medium institutions in the PACE normbase.

Clients are able to select three of the following categories:

  • PACE Normbase
    • All institutions in the PACE database between the 2015-16 and 2020-21 survey administration years.
  • Previous Administration
    • Previous administration data must be from a year in our current normbase (2015/16  – 2020/21).
  • Census Region 
    • The Region comparison group compares your institution to other institutions in your census region. The five census regions are: Northeast, Midwest, South, West, and Canada.
  • Size
    • The Size comparison group is derived from the total number of students enrolled for credit (IPEDs). The five size categories are: Very Small (Under 1,000 students enrolled), Small (1,000 – 4,999 students enrolled), Medium (5,000 – 9,999 students enrolled), Large (10,000 – 19,999 students enrolled), and Very Large (20,000 or more students enrolled).
  • Locale
    • The Locale comparison group is a compressed version of the IPEDs Degree of Urbanization variable. The five compressed categories are: City, Suburb, Town, or Rural.
  • Degree Type
    • This comparison is a compressed version of Carnegie Classification basic classification description. The five compressed categories are: High Transfer, Mixed Transfer, High Career, Baccalaureate/Associate’s Colleges, and Baccalaureate and Higher.
  • Division
    • The Division comparison group compares your institution to other institutions in your census division. The nine census divisions are: New England, Middle Atlantic, East North Central, West North Central, South Atlantic, East South Central, West South Central, Mountain, and Pacific.